Starting my new business.

Discussion in 'Gunsmithing Forum' started by GSmith1883, Jun 16, 2014.

1. GSmith1883

GSmith1883 New Member

I just opened my Gunsmith business out of my home. I've got the education (Colorado School of Trades), I've got more than just the basic tools (including a drill press) and some books, and I've got all the licensing. Everything is all set up. So far I don't have a lot of experience, I couldn't afford quitting my day job to take a apprenticeship, so aside from my schooling and doing small jobs on friends and my personal firearms I have little experience. I've invested a lot of time and money into this and I really need it to work out. This is a passion I've had for a long time, and my day job sucks! Does anyone have any advice for starting my business on a successful path and avoiding mistakes due to my lack of experience?Any pitfalls or lessons I can avoid learning the hard way? Any advise would be greatly appreciated.

Sent from my iPhone using Firearms Talk

2. DrFootball

DrFootball disappointed & disgusted, But DETERMINED... Lifetime Supporter

Congrats and best of luck. I did the same, and going back to School at 52-53 was not easy, and still is not. I did also get tools, and a drill press, but stopped short at a lathe,...I'm lucky I'm retired( Taught HS and college undergrad for 26 years after active duty Army). I'm short a few hands on Machining classes, and have a 3 semester wait to take them locally, but two friends in the biz already have been very helpful. One lets me watch him work and explains stuff to me, and the other lets me just work on his machines...

Last edited: Jun 16, 2014

3. danf_fl

danf_fl Retired Supporter

There are a lot of people who are too lazy to clean their guns or the family relic.

Offer that, and as you continue, you will get to have "hands-on" with different models.

As you clean, look for parts that need replacement. The internet has loads of information on guns and use it to your advantage.