Started buying food

Discussion in 'Survival & Sustenance Living Forum' started by tenntyrant, Jan 28, 2012.

1. tenntyrant

tenntyrant New Member

For emergency. I am going to have to do little every week until I get it built up to where I feel comfortable. I started by just getting some canned chili, soup, green beans, baked beans, tuna, chicken, and peanut butter. As you can tell I am new to this so any suggestions on what kinds of food to get and where and how to store it would be a great help. I do not have a lot of room and will probably have to just put it where I can find a spot in the house. I think if I do a little each week I will be ok. Family of 5.

2. dunerunner

dunerunner New Member

Rice, dried beans, canned meats (Spam, Corned Beef, etc.), Saimin noodles, all are great. Focus on having plenty of protine and carbs. Dry goods are best (for me) stored in FoodSaver bags.

3. c3shooter

c3shooter Administrator Staff Member

And get things that you eat- because you will be eating them. If you do not like chicken noodle soup, then do not stock up on that. You will want to rotate food- buy new, use some of the older.

4. aandabooks

aandabooks New Member

I've been buying about $5 per week in beans, rice and canned goods. Need to consider some tuna or other canned meats. Also, don't forget to put back some bottled water. I have several cases that I got on sale for like $2.99/24. Not my favorite brands but I imagine if the SHTF I won't be complaining about the brand of water I will have on hand.

5. ktmboyz

ktmboyz New Member

+1 on that , when your dehydrated I doubt you will really care as long as its wet and clean.

6. fireguy

fireguy New Member

When first starting out, it is best to buy the things you normally do, just stack them deeper in the pantry. This applies to canned and dry goods. It probably won't do well for you in time of a disaster to rely on the freezer, electricity can't be counted on unless you have a reliable backup.