Staking gas key Oly arms??

Discussion in 'AR-15 Discussion' started by Mossyoakman3006, Feb 27, 2011.

1. Mossyoakman3006

Mossyoakman3006 New Member

So my oly K16 didnt come with the gas key staked just wonder since im kinda new to the AR world would it be worth staking the gas key or leaving it unstaked?

2. mjkeat

mjkeat New Member

Last edited: Feb 27, 2011

3. Mossyoakman3006

So would it be worth me buying the tools and doing it myself or taking it to a gunsmith and letting him do

4. Mossyoakman3006

Looks like it gonna cost me about $120 to do the job properly dont know if I feel confident enough to do the job with a punch or chisel so probably get a MOACKS and guess im gonna need a way to check the torque like one of those fat wrenches, hate to spend the money on somethin im probably only gonna use once or twice thanks for the advice

5. Gatekeeper

Gatekeeper New Member

6. russ

russ New Member

Post a picture of what you've got. Staking a gas key shouldn't be something you need a 'smith for. Hell, send it to me with return postage and I'll do it for you.

7. mjkeat

mjkeat New Member

8. Mossyoakman3006

Guess I lied my stock key is staked but just barely, might get that BCM just so I dont have to worry about it looks like that thing would out live the rifle thanks for the help

9. russ

russ New Member

Seriously, you cover the ride here and back, I'll do it for you. I'm an engineer at an aerospace manufacturing company, quality control is my area of expertise. I have all the necessary tools at my disposal. Heck, I can even MPI (magnetic particle inspection) test it for you.

10. Quentin

Quentin New Member

Very generous offer Russ!

11. mjkeat

mjkeat New Member

How are you w/ pinning and welding of muzzle devises?

12. russ

russ New Member