Springfield XDM 9mm

Discussion in 'General Handgun Discussion' started by wick060, Jun 27, 2010.

1. wick060

wick060 New Member

Is there any problem with buying a gun that is on display? I bought my first handgun today. A Springfield XDM 9mm at a Bass Pro Shops. They didn't have any in the back, all they had was the display gun. It looked just fine and there was a trigger guard on it so it hasn't been dry fired a bunch of times. Should I be worried about anything?

2. Flat4sti

Flat4sti New Member

You should be fine. I also think they have a good warranty policy. Congrats, there are some xd lovers here.

3. wick060

wick060 New Member

Thanks for the reply. Obviously I'm new to gun ownership but I just want to make sure there aren't issues with buying a display gun.

4. wick060

wick060 New Member

does anyone else have an opinion on this?

5. Gojubrian

Gojubrian New Member

It's the same gun as the others only it has been fondled by some people. There's nothing to worry about imo.

6. Jpyle

Jpyle New Member

You should be fine as long as it is sold to you as NIB with all original SA warranties in place. Dry firing should not be an issue since many gun shops do not like customers pulling the trigger or excessively racking the slides anyway. Good luck with your purchase and hope you enjoy the new XDm. Also, since Bass Pro Shops do not have ranges, as far as I know, there should not have been any rounds put through it except for the factory test and casing marking.

7. wick060

wick060 New Member

Thanks for the reassuarance guys. I feel much better about this now. Thanks for the warm welcome and I'm looking forward to the new gun.

8. billdeserthills

billdeserthills New Member

Dude, I am a gun dealer, now when I go to do a gun show I bring hundreds of guns with me. Do you think Anyone who sells gun s can afford to pay full price to have hundreds of demo models sitting around? What else could I do with a demo gun, if it doesn't sell? Throw it in the trash?