spinner target

Discussion in 'Range Report' started by bigsteve89, Dec 10, 2011.

1. bigsteve89

bigsteve89 New Member

howdy.
    in my seemingly endless free time as a college student i have decided over winter break that im going to make a spinner target to get over the boredom that comes during winter break.
    i want to make two sets one that can withstand up to my 30.06 and another that is for up to rimfire only. what is the minimum thickness that you would use for each? im thinking using 3/8th plate should be sufficient for the centerfire and 1/4 should be fine for rimfire. and i was going to hang them so that all shots are deflected downward
    any input would be great.

2. hiwall

hiwall Well-Known Member

Most centerfires will buzz right thru 3/8 regular(cold rolled) steel. Your 30/06 would go thru or make quite a mark on 1/2" regular(cr) steel. 1/4 or 3/16 is fine for rimfires.

3. rugernut

rugernut New Member

I have biult one and. I yoused 3/4 steel it stopes a 308 but after a lot of rounds going in to it and it starts to blow threw it so I hope some of this helps

4. bigsteve89

bigsteve89 New Member

yeah, but i can heat treat the steel. i have access to several furnaces. and theres a company that offers one that is supposedly able to handle up to 30-06 but i dont want to spend 100 on something i can build for 20 or 30 and eat up some of my boredom

5. unclebear

unclebear New Member

We used 1/4" hot rolled steel plate it's stops .22 LR, 9MM Luger, 38 Special +P, .357 Magnum. Sadly we also tried it with a 7MM Remington Magnum and a 30-30 well lets just say they put a pretty nice clean hole straight through it. On a piece of 1" steel a 7MM Remington Magnum 150 Grain Soft Point took a 3/8" chunk out of the plate at 50 yards. For pistols and .22's 1/4" hot roll plate works fine but on certain types of rifles it does not work at all.

Take a look at this... it's interesting