Speed Loaders and Hollow Points

Discussion in 'Revolver Handguns' started by Balota, Aug 16, 2014.

1. Balota

Balota ... but I used to play keyboards.

I'm pretty new to revolver shooting. I've been trying my revolver in IDPA and barely (1-2 seconds) made Marksman in SSR. One of my problems is reloading with speed loaders.

I've practiced with snap caps and gotten down to maybe 2-3 seconds a lot of the time. But when I try to reload with live rounds it just doesn't work. A lot of the ammo I've gotten (both 38spl and 357) have some kind of hollow point or flat point bullets. The flat ends of the rounds don't catch well in the cylinder.

I want to try the Classifier in ESR, but my revolver is not modified for moon clips. So, I'm going to try it with speed loaders. My 357 ammo is JSP.

Does anyone have any suggestions about how to speed up the process when I'm using rounds other than FMJ?

Last edited: Aug 16, 2014
  2. JonM

JonM Moderator

use cast lead round nose.

if your competing you should be using cast bullets for cost and to prevent bounce back on steel if your shooting steel.

3. Balota

Good points. I'm not reloading ammo yet. I'd love to find some round nose ammo that would behave a bit more like the snap caps. I was hoping someone had a trick up their sleeve that would make reloading the revolver with flat nose rounds easier.

4. JonM

JonM Moderator

there isnt anything gear wise you can do other than changing bullet profile. and this is only going to be marginal.

other than that, LOTS of practice until it becomes muscle memmory. this will be the biggest improvement. smooth is fast. dont try to force it. speed will come after years of practice.

if your going to compete you should be loading and have a chronograph to be sure your ammo is in the correct power factor if your doing that sort of thing. handloading lets you shot a LOT more matches and practice more.

5. Balota