Sights for AR

Discussion in 'AR-15 Discussion' started by minchia, Feb 22, 2012.

1. minchia

minchia New Member

Hey guys, I'm looking into building my first AR. I'm doing some research on sights and I want to install an open red dot sight. Now, for longer range shots, whats the best thing to do, install a magnifier, or swap out to a regular scope? But that would affect the accuracy right?

2. frostyone

frostyone New Member

What distance are you meaning by longer range shots?

3. minchia

minchia New Member

100+ yards or so

4. CHLChris

CHLChris New Member

Are you talking about during some theoretical battle, switching out the optics, or between shots at the range? Is there a particular price range you are looking at? This could change the entire conversation.

5. frostyone

frostyone New Member

For 100-200 yards a red dot or iron sights should be sufficient. I have no experience with a magnifier but have done some shooting at 200 yards with just iron sights. I believe you can get a scope mount that can be removed and put back on without affecting zero. A magnifier sounds like it could also be a good fit but I don't have any experience with them.

6. JGR

JGR New Member

For 100 yards a red dot is really all you need unless you want to try and shoot little groups. I'm able to make consistent hits on steel plates out to 300 yards with my AR pistol (11 1/2" barrel) and an aimpoint T1.

If you're looking to get a scope also and switch back and forth between optics I highly recommend getting a good quick disconnect scope mount and red dot mount (LaRue, ADM, Bobro) to make sure you keep a proper zero with each optic. It's also important to mark the exact placement on the rail that you mount each optic as you can have variances in the rail that can affect your zero. I actually just use a paint marker to mark the spot on the rail where the mount sits.