Sierra

Discussion in 'General Rifle Discussion' started by MaGoo Idaho, Feb 8, 2019.

1. MaGoo Idaho

MaGoo Idaho Member Supporter

Just found that Sierra was sold to the holding company that owes Dick's Sporting Goods. Don't think I will support them any more. They have not updated reloading manual since 2003.

Biohazard2 likes this.
  2. sheepdawg

sheepdawg Well-Known Member Supporter

Barnes makes a Match Kings copy in 6.5X55. Cheaper too. Even more reason to avoid them.

Dallas53 likes this.

3. Txhillbilly

Txhillbilly Well-Known Member

Sierra has all kinds of updated load data,and it's free if you inquire about it. You can print it out on your printer,and then put it in the load data book.
    I've been shooting Sierra bullets for over three decades in around 17 different cartridges,as long as they continue to produce the same high quality bullet's,I could care less about who owns them.

Pasquanel, Dallas53 and Shopfox like this.
  4. Pasquanel

Pasquanel Proud to be an American Supporter

Sierra has been my bullet for over 50 years.

BVAL likes this.
  5. Shopfox

Shopfox Well-Known Member Supporter

I needed some 6.8SPC info that's not in the current manual. They were forthcoming and shared the data, at no cost. I've also had excellent results with multiple products of theirs. To date: no lemons. I have no plans to stop using them. It's like cutting off my nose, to spite my face.

If Sierra's sales drop, it won't be the CEO's getting fired. The people getting hurt will be the ordinary employees with the knowledge, making the great product at a reasonable price (not the $0.70 per unloaded bullet nonsense).

Dallas53 likes this.
  6. Shopfox

Screenshot_20190208-232316_Chrome.jpg Screenshot_20190208-232802_Chrome.jpg View attachment 196236
    Sierra is owned by Clarus. I don't see Clarus as a top-10 holder of Dick's Sporting Goods (DSG). Maybe I'm missing something, but I don't see the connection between DSG and Clarus/Sierra.