Side charging bolt

Discussion in 'Auto & Semi-Auto Discussion' started by Duster, Jun 4, 2014.

1. Duster

Duster New Member

Hello, I'm new here and apologize for not starting intro thread. I made a hasty decision and put down a good % of money for a side charging 6.5 grendel. My concerns are- if your in the field /bush a lot and like to hunt, would the side charger be susceptible to failure because of dirt accumulations ? It does not have a dust cover!!! Anyone have a solid opinion on the matter. I'm going to have to cancel the order and lose some money because I get the feeling it would fail way to quickly when in the woods.
    Should I be worried? I'm new to the platform and have gotten different info. The maker says it will be fine- " lots of battle rifles have side charging handle without a cover " but this one seems to have some spaces where the bolt is. Any advice is appreciated.

Attached Files:

2. clr8ter

clr8ter New Member

I personally wouldn't worry about it. Some AR's don't even HAVE a dust cover. Where do you hunt? A desert? In mud puddles? How's enough stuff going to get in there and make it fail? Cool upper, BTW. Never seen one like it.

3. JTJ

JTJ Well-Known Member Supporter

Other than AR's most semi auto rifles and shotguns have the side charging handle. Even the AK has a side charging handle.

4. FernandoTheCommando

FernandoTheCommando New Member

You'll be fine in the woods with that upper. Unless you plan on torture testing it, normal woods use shouldn't cause malfunctions. Do you have a link to that upper? I've never seen one like that and I kind of like the way it looks.

5. Duster

Duster New Member