Should i upgrade the internal parts?

Discussion in '1911 Forum' started by okdonk, Dec 18, 2012.

1. okdonk

okdonk New Member

I'm new to 1911. I'll be picking up my Colt Defender 9mm this thursday at my LGS. It's on transit as we speak. This will be my first Colt 1911. Not sure if Defender falls into 1911 or not :).
    My question, what internal or external parts should i upgrade? I was reading on some forums, people like Wilson Combat internal parts. Are they worthy? Are the parts will make it better? If i were going to buy additional mags, should i get Colt mags or Wilson's mags? The gun will not be my EDC for sure.
    So please feed me with your wealthy 1911 knowledges. Thank you.

2. Chainfire

Chainfire Well-Known Member Supporter

I would shoot it. If it works as designed I would leave it alone. I bought my SA 1911 in 1994 and I have shot the dickens out of it. It still has all of the original parts, including magazines, and it works perfectly.

3. danf_fl

danf_fl Retired Supporter

I agree with Chainfire.
    If you shoot the thing "Like you're tryin' to break it", You will identify what parts need to be replaced.
    Then should it need something during the break in period, the company cannot blame you for messin' with it.

4. qwiksdraw

qwiksdraw New Member

That awkward moment when you realize the previous two replies said exactly what you would have said....!

5. HOSSFLY

HOSSFLY New Member

Wud you buy a new car & put a new engine & transmission in it?
    Shoot the thing ;)

6. jakewpns

jakewpns New Member

That being said if you do get after market parts from wilson, go with their Bullet Proof parts. Otherwise you will be getting the same stuff thats on your gun thats casted. Wilsons Bullet Proof and Ed Browns Hardcore line of parts are forged and machined. So it will hold up longer than parts that are casted. But as the others previously stated, unless you are trying to break your 1911 by shooting, you wont really notice the difference