Short stroking?

Discussion in 'AR-15 Discussion' started by SkilletFan24, Jan 26, 2014.

1. SkilletFan24

SkilletFan24 New Member

So I shot my AR some more on Friday. I started rapid firing it but it would quickly jam. Slow shots were fine... But as soon as I started shooting quickly it had problems. Now normally my ar doesn't spit the empty casings too far from the ar. I've described it as lazy before, like it doesn't really want to spit them out but it does. They go maybe 3-5 feet from my ar. I didn't think that was a problem but then id fire off like 3 shots before the bolt would lock open with ammo still in the mag. Id have to use the bolt catch to drop the bolt. Does anyone know why this is? Doesn't happen unless I rapid fire.
    Is it possible my rifle is short stroking?
    Also I've used 2 different brands of ammo and it ejects both the same. It's also a new rifle with <100 rounds through it. Maybe 70 or 80 max have been out through it

Last edited: Jan 26, 2014
  2. JonM

JonM Moderator

Pics would help. Mainly looking for type of ar15. Build specs. What buffer spring etc.

Common mistakes are using a rifle buffer in a carbine build. Using rifle recoil springs in a carbine build. Misaligning the gasblock so it restricts gas flow, misaligning barrel nut so it binds the bcg.. Those are the common issues associated with the symptoms described.

3. SkilletFan24

SkilletFan24 New Member

I'll get some pictures up in a few minutes when I get a chance

4. SSGN_Doc

SSGN_Doc Well-Known Member

Which two types of ammo?

5. JonM

JonM Moderator

Pics of the buffer and buffer spring and stock, good close up of the gas block good close up of the inside of the upper at the gas tube entry point.

6. Mercator

Mercator New Member

Try to get a sharp close-up of the bolt face.

7. DrFootball

DrFootball disappointed & disgusted, But DETERMINED... Lifetime Supporter

and are the casings coming out Damaged??

8. SkilletFan24

SkilletFan24 New Member