Shooting Walther P1 (P38) - Need Help!

Discussion in 'Semi-Auto Handguns' started by bf109, Jul 5, 2011.

1. bf109

bf109 New Member

I’m fairly new to shooting pistol. So far I shot about 500 rounds of 9mm Luger ammo and 1,500 rounds of 22 l.r.

I bought a military surplus post-war Walther P1 (same as P38) from AIM a few months ago and have shot about 150 rounds but could never get hang of the aiming, accuracy, or grouping. What’s the right aiming technique and SIGHT Picture for the P1?

First, my shots were consistently 3-4 inches (with target 8-10 yards away) lower than where I aimed at. Second, the grouping was large and not consistent at all.

FYI, I also shoot a HK P7 PSP with which I have excellent accuracy (2 inch group at 8-10 yards). Even better with my Browning Buckmark 22 l.r. So I would think my shooting technique is ok.

Is there anything wrong with my aiming or handling of the gun? Or, it’s the P1 itself. Some people said the front sight might not be the correct height. But my grouping should be consistent.

What can I do to improve the accuracy shooting the P1? Thanks.

2. Firearms4ever

Firearms4ever New Member

There are many possibilities as too what is affecting the accuracy. I could have been the ammunition, but I suspect it's just the matter of you getting use to firing handguns. When you're new to firing any type of firearm it usually takes a bit to get use to that type of firearm and the same thing goes for each individual firearm. Since you're new to shooting handguns I would say that is the most likely suspect, but that doesn't mean it's definately the one.

3. Thadeuce

Thadeuce New Member