shooting right handed while aiming with left eye...

Discussion in 'General Handgun Discussion' started by DoyleTheDog, Oct 7, 2009.

1. DoyleTheDog

DoyleTheDog New Member

So basically, I am right handed but damn near blind in my right eye. So because of this, I have to shoot righty and aim with my left eye... I never thought anything of it until I started learning more about shooting. My question is, does shooting like this effect my aim in any way with a pistol? I have to shoot rifles left handed unless they have a tall scope on them, but shooting lefty feels down right awkward and is not fun for me.

2. junho806

junho806 New Member

interesting...
    i would say to switch everything to your left
    the way i see it:
    1. your right eye is never gonna get better
    2. the awkwardness of becoming a lefty is gonna go away with practice and time
    its gonna feel weird and you'll shoot terrible but with practice and time you'll get better
    and hey in this day and age a lefty has it just as good as a righty (maybe not all the time but yeah)

so what do you think?
    :D

and yes aiming with left while holding with right is gonna effect accuracy and you'll hit a wall eventually(i think)

Last edited: Oct 7, 2009

3. NGIB

NGIB New Member

I've had lazy eye in my right eye forever and it's all but useless. It's the main reason I don't use long guns much. I shoot pistols right-handed and left-eyed with no problems - and I win my share of matches. Other than having my head turned a bit, I see no difference between me and "normal" shooters...

4. junho806

junho806 New Member

interesting...
    i guess if you make it work it'll work
    :D

5. canebrake

canebrake New Member

Wyatt to Ike, I like that!

I feel your pain, I'm left eye dominate but right handed.

Shooting with my weak side is like using a palsy hand!