Shooting range in NYC

Discussion in 'Range Report' started by -Twilight, May 21, 2011.

1. -Twilight

-Twilight New Member

Hi all,

I'm a firearms instructor from the Netherlands, and I'm making a trip to New York City next month. As a part of the trip, I'd like to go to a gun range just to shoot a few boxes. Not only for fun of it but also to learn from it, hoping to get some tips I can relay on to my students.

But I've been googling a bit, and most lanes are for LEO only, US citizens only, members only, etc.

Would anyone happen to know a lane where one could just walk in without the above mentioned criteria?

2. M14sRock

M14sRock New Member

NYC has some fairly serious gun laws, and I don't know what requirements they have for range use in the City.

I have a buddy who is a gun guy and NYPD cop and I'll email him to see what his thoughts are.

3. canebrake

canebrake New Member

You will probably need to get out of the city to find a friendly range.

Come on down to Ft. Lauderdale, FL and you can shoot till your heart's content! ;)

4. -Twilight

-Twilight New Member

Great, thanks! And Canebrake, I'm only there for a week visiting a friend, and I don't think she's into a 1200 mile roadtrip just for some shooting ;)

If I was there solo, well...:D

5. Capt18

Capt18 New Member

Come on down to Georgia. The training division is under Uniform Patrol in my agency. Not only am I the assistant division commander but I'm one of the firearms instructors. We would let you shoot all say if you wanted too. Have a safe trip.

6. M14sRock

M14sRock New Member

So, my buddy says you need to have a NYC gun license to even enter a range there. Bummer. Fly through LA and I'll take you shooting.

7. dog2000tj

dog2000tj New Member

8. -Twilight

-Twilight New Member

Bummer.. It's my first time to the U.S., apparently picked the wrong spot to get away from the rather stringent gun-laws over here..:D