sell to my brother - laws?

Discussion in 'Legal and Activism' started by Nyforandring, Jan 14, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Nyforandring

Nyforandring New Member

My brother wants me to buy him a handgun from a local dealer because I get a discount there, then sell it to him. What do I need to do to keep the whole transaction nice and legal?

2. spittinfire

spittinfire New Member Supporter

It's illegal to buy a handgun for someone else. I don't know about colorado but here in NC face to face transactions are legal so here if you buy it and then sell it to him you would be within the law.

I should mentione I failed the bar exam.

3. Yunus

Yunus New Member

I'm no lawyer either but it seems to me that if you are buying a gun with the intent of selling it that you are in fact NOT the "actual buyer".

Any chance you can talk to the gun shop and ask them to pass your discount to your friend for the sale? That IMO would be the best way to ensure you are 100% legal.

4. NGIB

NGIB New Member

Do a little research on what constitutes a "Straw Purchase" and act accordingly. Legal information from the internet is worth as much as it costs - nothing...

5. corrinavatan

corrinavatan New Member

Here's your biggest problem:

You've just posted on the internet that you plan on purchasing the gun to hand over to your brother.

You've pretty much stated "I'm going to be a straw purchaser"

Now, if your brother does ANYTHING with that gun, you can be implicated.

Do what was suggested earlier: bring your brother into the shop, and ask if the shop can pass the discount to your brother.

Or, some stores will allow you to pay for a "gun voucher" which can be redeemed for a gun at a later point. It's basically a "gun gift certificate", where you pay for it, give it to someone else, and they can "trade it in" for the gun, and THEY count as the person buying it (as it is THEY who get checked, not you).

6. corrinavatan

corrinavatan New Member