Seeking affordable hobby gun, long range bolt action

Discussion in 'General Rifle Discussion' started by meal4zombies, Mar 21, 2012.

1. meal4zombies

meal4zombies New Member

I am not a ballistics expert. I don't really know which cartridge is better or why, but I will do some reading on this forum to try to draw some conclusions; but I'm looking for a rifle that will be on the cheaper side, about $250 to $300 that has an effective range of about 400 yards that I can tinker and practice with. Any opinions welcome.

Also wondering where to shoot. I live on the outskirts of Cleveland so there's no fields around here, much less any place that would allow me to shoot a rifle. Gun ranges around here are indoor, pistol only. I can't even shoot my 10/22.

2. ShagNasty1001

ShagNasty1001 New Member

I'm a fan of the .308. It's a short action, ammo is decently priced, easy to find and has a large variety of bullet types. What exactly would you be using it for? Hunting? Paper punching?

3. kaido

kaido New Member

You could always get the Savage axis chambered in what ever you'd like.
    Personally I would go with .223 just purely for the cheapness. By of by "tinker with" you mean try and see what loads you can make for it since you reload, I'd go with a .308. That way if you ever decide to, you can always hunt deer with the same paper punching rifle.

4. Axxe55

Axxe55 The Apocalypse Is Coming.....

well in the $250-300 range, your options may be limited. you might look into getting a used Mosin or Mauser with a lot of ammo to practice with. or another option would be to start looking around in the pawnshops and gun stores for a decent used rifle. if you can't find a place to shoot, then it could be a mmot point.

5. bigdaddy573

bigdaddy573 New Member

I got a savage 110 from a pawnshop for 325 and it's in good shape and shoots just as good but as a heck of a thump and that y it has the Nickname thumper lol

I RUN LIKE A CHEVY AND IM BUILT FORD TOUGH ;)

6. meal4zombies