Sears single shot conversion

Discussion in 'DIY Projects' started by flashover, Nov 24, 2012.

1. flashover

flashover New Member

I just got a old bolt action single shot sears rifle .22 and was wondering if it would be at all possible to convert it to hold a 5 round clip I am willing to put time into it just wasn't sure if it was possible.

2. Axxe55

Axxe55 The Apocalypse Is Coming.....

oh it's probably possible, but probably not worth it. what are your machining and fabricating skills? what is your skill level with firearms?

3. flashover

flashover New Member

This is my very first attempt at anything honestly so around none

4. Axxe55

best advice i can give is, leave it alone. shoot it as it is or buy one that has a removeable magazine. best case scenario, you will bugger it up and make it unshootable, worst case, you actually are able to and it blows up in your face, injuring yourself. gunsmithing isn't something done by those with no knowledge of working on firearms.

5. flashover

flashover New Member

That's what I was figuring. I am debating whether to try pennfosters gunsmithing class because i am really wanting to learn is there any ideas I could try just to mess around with the rifle?

6. Axxe55

personally if it works just fine, leave it be. don't mess with it. working on firearms isn't something to take lightly.

in other words if it ain't broke, don't fix it. leave it be.

7. pagj17

pagj17 New Member

I at one time wanted to do the samething... instead I bought it's sibling with a detachable magazine.

8. flashover

flashover New Member

Okay I appreciate the help

9. nitestalker

nitestalker New Member