sd40ve or sd9ve

Discussion in 'Smith & Wesson Forum' started by loveguns, Aug 15, 2013.

1. loveguns

loveguns New Member

I was planning on buying a sd40ve or the sd9ve...gunsmiths has told me that these guns have a bad tricker pull....but what about getting a sigma kit..does anyone recommend this gun for protection...

2. rickster

rickster New Member

I owned a Sigma S40ve and even after a trigger job it was still a hard pull and would affect my accuracy. Haven't shot a newer version.

3. StLshooter

StLshooter New Member

I have the sd9ve and I am fairly accurate with it. The trigger pull is long but once I got used to it the gun was accurate. I use my sd9 for home defense and my m&p9c for carry.
    This video sold me on the sd9.

[ame]http://m.youtube.com/watch?v=1cleMs8xmqc[/ame]

Last edited: Aug 16, 2013
  4. ebowman446

ebowman446 New Member

I just posted in another thread- get the apex tactical trigger kit. Huuuuuuuge difference. Disclaimer - I'm new to handguns in the last few months- bit before the kit I could barely keep all 14 rounds on paper. Now I can group shots about like I can with my m&p (4-5 inches from 15ish yards).

5. hamiltonjayson

hamiltonjayson New Member

I second the apex kit, it's a MUST have IMO. Love my sd40ve !!!

6. 60mg

60mg New Member

The trigger pull is just one of two problems with Sigma's trigger (regardless of its generation). Also it's the only problem out of those two that can be dealt with. Another one is the reset and that's what's killing follow up shots. I've learned to deal with 8lb ( I dropped it from upper 11ish it had originally) but the reset is the one makes the gun going all over the place when shooting more than one round rapidly. Although the gun is super dependable and easy and I still like it despite these issues I'm planning to upgrade to mp9 the first chance I have and keep Sigma as a nightstand gun.

Attached Files:

Last edited: Dec 5, 2013
  7. HOSSFLY

HOSSFLY New Member