Firearms Talk banner
1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Premium Member
1,656 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
I have an old friend who has been to Africa hunting several times. He is self-employed and is swamped with his work. He had asked from help setting up the CZ 550 in 416 Rigby. I do have a CZ 550 in 375 H&H with CZ rings. Those rings are made of steel. The new CZ rings look to be made of aluminum. I would have gone with the steel CZ rings. Problem there is this items no longer seems to be offered.

My question is does anybody here have any experience or comments on getting a scope onto a heavy recoiling CZ rifle. There's a world of difference between the 375 H&H and the 416 Rigby, I have zero experience mounting a scope on rifle of that size. Friend is looking at several Leupold scopes for his rifle. Comments on the scope are also appreciated.

·
Supporting Member
14,207 Posts
Terry,
I am aware of the 416 a friend of mine hunts Africa somewhat often. I have shot it "what a beast". Jokingly I wondered who got the worst of it the animal or the shooter! :p Last I knew he was planning on going for the big 5.
Anyway a couple of years ago I put a Leupold MK-4 Scope on my 338 Lapua Magnum Rifle. Since i trashed the first scope I had on it which was a Millett. But I also have Leupold Steel Rings on it.

Reactions: Mowgli Terry

·
Premium Member
1,656 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
I am aware of the 416 a friend of mine hunts Africa somewhat often. I have shot it "what a beast". Jokingly I wondered who got the worst of it the animal or the shooter! :p Last I knew he was planning on going for the big 5.