Scope for 10/22 Ruger

Discussion in '.22 Rifle/Rimfire Discussion' started by Brave, Sep 2, 2013.

1. Brave

Brave New Member

I am totally new to this kind of stuff and am somewhat of a senior citizen. I am wanting to put a scope on my 10/22. This would be completely for target shooting for fun. Do not want to have to rob my piggy bank for one. Any suggestions?

2. Jpyle

Jpyle New Member

Had a similar question when I got my 10/22 a few years back. This is what I ultimately picked up for it. http://swfa.com/Simmons-22-Mag-Rifle-Scopes-C178.aspx

Here is my original thread with all the suggested scopes...

http://www.firearmstalk.com/forums/f21/drinking-10-22-kool-aid-24854/

3. Anna_Purna

Anna_Purna New Member

How much is not breaking the bank?

4. John_Deer

John_Deer New Member

I have a simmons 8 point 4x fixed power scope on my 10/22 and my Marlin XT-22 MR. The first 8 point I bought was for a shotgun. It held up on the shotgun. Then I got a real shotgun scope. Once I got the shotgun scope I put the 8 point on my 10/22. When I bought the marlin I got another 8 point. Natchez shooting sports has simmons scopes on sale right now. Scopes that are over $100 at walmart are $60 at Natchez. They are not seconds. Simmons scopes have a lifetime warranty. I bought my shotgun scope at a yard sale for $5. I sent it to simmons with $10 for shipping. In a few weeks I had a new shotgun scope that is holding up very well. At 75 yards my shotgun consistently shoots 3" groups. When I am breathing well it will do better. I have COPD.

5. LeadSlanger

LeadSlanger New Member

Same thing I was fixing to ask. I have a Mueller APV on my Savage MKII FV-SR. It's a great scope for the money.

6. mdauben

mdauben New Member

I've got a Nikon ProStaff Rimfire 4x32 on my 10/22 and I love it. Bright, clear and enough magnification for target, plinking or even squirrel hunting. I think you can pick them up for around $100 right now.

7. chloeshooter

chloeshooter New Member