Savage axis ar stock finished from newbie

Discussion in 'DIY Projects' started by plutonium, Apr 17, 2013.

1. plutonium

plutonium New Member

Hello guys,, i am a newbie.. just started with the gun hobbie in dec 2012..but of course i always owned a shotgun for home protection for over 20 years.. kinda fixed it up a little moss 500[​IMG] anyway i got a savage axis before doing any research...well we know about that stinky stock with no aftermarket units.. so i saw a ar buffer adapter from exile machine and just looking at it online it looked like it could be mated to the existing stock on the axis ..so i took a chance and went for it... well here are the pictures[​IMG] ar buffer adapter[​IMG] start cuttiing and fitting a little at a time.studying the fit[​IMG]

2. plutonium

plutonium New Member

start cutting and fitting a little at a time studying how to mate the two units[​IMG]first fit before epoxy but to long for magpul stock[​IMG]

3. plutonium

plutonium New Member

had to cut down and trim to bare minimum without loosing the bonding area needed for recoil[​IMG] ok here it is finished and painted[​IMG]

4. plutonium

plutonium New Member

here is the savage axis complete.. i also beefed up the forearm with two 1/4 by 7 inch steel rods embedded in epoxy and added 2 picatinny rails on forearm bolted in and epoxied in with the steel rods... added rubber rail covers for great grip and feel[​IMG][​IMG][/IMG][​IMG] i had to cut the buffer tube and stock down to make it short enough for proper eye relief... but that caused me to loose the 6 position stock action..i am sure the gun is 3 pounds heavier.,..also behind the trigger the stock is completely filled with epoxy for strength sav 30-06

Last edited: Apr 18, 2013
  5. E7018Dan

E7018Dan New Member