Safety razor

Discussion in 'The Club House' started by Mosin, Mar 20, 2012.

1. Mosin

Mosin Well-Known Member

My ex just bought me a safety razor as a gift.

http://www.goodfella.com/best-shaving-razor-kit.html

Does anyone have any experience using these? Tips? I haven't used it yet, but tomorrow morning I'll have a go at it. Overall, so far it looks good, nice weight and balance. It's the whole badger brush/soap thing I've never used before.

2. orangello

orangello New Member

Init for the pictures. :D
    My father still uses one of those "safety" razors; I would feel safer using a straight-bladed razor.

3. rigjumpr

rigjumpr New Member

Yep my first real razor after the pop-sicle sticks I found the one without the “comb” much better still have it to pass down to my grandson. Use plenty of foam/soap.

4. steve666

steve666 New Member

5. winds-of-change

winds-of-change The Balota's Staff Member

Why would your "ex" buy you a safety razor? :confused:

6. Mosin

Mosin Well-Known Member

Were still friends. It was an amicable separation. I'm a merchant marine, and she didn't want to deal with the whole being at sea for 4-8 months a year. I'm okay with that, I understand it's hard.

7. JonM

JonM Moderator

Not sure i would use one of those on a boat...

The reason its called a safety razor is because you can still mangle yourself but not cut deep enough to kill yourself. Its barely better than a straight edge safety wise but gives a realllly good shave. You dont really nick yourself with one so much as slice your face open.

Last edited: Mar 21, 2012
  8. Mosin

Mosin Well-Known Member

I don't shave at sea. I prefer to go all wild man while I'm away from the civilized world. Thanks for the heads up though.:)

9. Trez

Trez Well-Known Member

Its really not that hard.. I still use one of those "safety razors" when im in a hurry and dont want to use my straight razor..

10. Misfire

Misfire New Member

What's a razor?

11. Mosin

Mosin Well-Known Member