SAA Clone Won't Range

Discussion in 'Gunsmithing Forum' started by Hill_Country_Gunsmith, Aug 23, 2010.

1. Hill_Country_Gunsmith

Hill_Country_Gunsmith New Member

I have a Uberti Colt SAA in my shop that will not range, i.e. the cylinder is not lining up with the bore properly. I make my living working on these things but this one seriously has me stumped. I have tried too many repair options to list. Any help would be appreciated.

2. danf_fl

danf_fl Retired Supporter

I had something like that come through. The "hand"/"pawl" was not the proper length for indexing the cylinder correctly (a tad too long in my case). Someone put a different hand in that was the wrong part, so first cursory look did not see anything obviously broken.
    Do you have any pictures?
    (Oh, we also ask that new members stop by the "Introductions" area and say "HI")

3. Hill_Country_Gunsmith

Yeah, I've shortened the hand to facilitate the revolvernot traveling as far clockwise but this just creates a lot of cylinder wobble when the gun is cocked. I' also tried fitting 2 new bolts...

4. danf_fl

How is the cylinder end play?

5. danf_fl

Is it possible that the cylinder is not original?

6. Hill_Country_Gunsmith

I also replaced the cylinder which was unnecessary because it has the exact same dimensions as the original. I thought the bolt stop notches might be machined incorrectly. The throats on the cylinder are actually oversize so it's not that the front holes are too small. Also, the bore and forcing cone look good and the frame is not bent. Told you it had me stumped... I'm going back to the shop to try again.

7. Dillinger

Dillinger New Member

Welcome Hill Coutry - This is not my area, but we have a couple of revolver guru's on the board that might be able to help.

I have sent up the flare, so they should be stopping by shortly.

JD

8. stalkingbear

stalkingbear Well-Known Member