S&w mp 15

Discussion in 'AR-15 Discussion' started by PlaysWithZombies, Mar 24, 2012.

1. PlaysWithZombies

PlaysWithZombies New Member

So i've found a guy who has an MP15 model 811013 that he wants to trade me for one of my AKs. Anyone here have any experience with them? I've always been a fan of S&W pistols but don't have any experience with their rifles.

2. Quentin

Quentin New Member

Do you need a compliant AR?

3. PlaysWithZombies

No, i'm a PA resident

4. Quentin

Quentin New Member

5. PlaysWithZombies

Yeah it's compliant, from what i understand though the only difference between compliant and non-compliant is that the barrel is made so you can't install a suppressor and it only has a 10 rnd mag, he does have a 30 rnd for it though.

The AK is a centurion 39 sporter

image-2143171385.jpg

6. mjkeat

mjkeat New Member

And fixed stock. It also isn't threaded for a muzzle device.

Round count, condition, etc. of each?

Last edited: Mar 24, 2012
  7. PlaysWithZombies

Don't know the round count on the AR but it's in good shape, doesn't look like it's spent much time outside the gun cabinet.

I've only put about 400 rounds through the AK and it's in fantastic condition, hasn't seen nearly as much abuse as my other AKs lol

8. mjkeat

mjkeat New Member

I would ask some questions about the AR before getting serious about a trade.

9. PlaysWithZombies

Oh yeah, absolutely. I was just curious if anyone had any experience with these rifles.

I was thinking after throwing a nice adjustable stock on it it'd be a good lower to put a BCM upper on for a shtf rifle, and still have the original for an everday plinker

10. Quentin

Quentin New Member

You can build up a nice lower for $250 or so or even buy a blemished BCM complete lower for not much more. I think I'd go that route unless you're sure about the S&W. I wouldn't be interested in a compliant AR unless I had a extended visit in a ban state. Anyway, find out the particulars and do what's best for you...