S&W 44 special?

Discussion in 'General Handgun Discussion' started by JorgeLobo, Sep 19, 2009.

1. JorgeLobo

JorgeLobo New Member

Folks"

Looking for your advice. I'm looking for a handgun for general household protection and plinking . I prefer a rveovler. Thinking about a S&W 44 special or 357 special or mag.
    May I have your comments re. +'s and_'s?

2. skullcrusher

skullcrusher New Member

Welcome to the forum, JorgeLobo. Since I have no idea of your experience with firearms, I will offer what I would do. :D

I would look at revolvers in .357 mag that also shoot the .38 special. There are many out there that are very functional. Plink with the .38's and protect with the .357 mags. That is just my opinion.

Perhaps if you go to the introduction section and tell us a little about yourself and your experience, you may find some other members with different opinions. :D

3. robocop10mm

robocop10mm Lifetime Supporting Member Lifetime Supporter

IMHO any collection of handguns must start with a good 4" .357 Mag revolver. They are simple, powerful, reliable, and versitile. Light specials for practice and plinking. Heavy magnums for deep penetration on large targets and everything in between.

S&W 586/686 are very good revolvers.

4. Franciscomv

Franciscomv New Member

I agree 100%. A good 4" .357 is a must in any firearm collection, you can shoot quite a few different types of ammo and it's cheaper to feed than a .44.

I would go with either a S&W 686 or a Ruger GP100.

5. JorgeLobo

JorgeLobo New Member

Thanks guys - fyi I'm an Army vet and a member of NRA. Was pretty experinced but haven't owned a firearm for decades ( scares the old lady).
    My town (Cincinnati) and the surrounding county are broke and financial cuts have severly limited prosecution of criminals and forced realease of crowds of felons. (no need to mention the social programs that are maintained as well as funding of a new "Green" city dept - think very liberal city council majority).