S&w 44 mag purchase decision.

Discussion in 'Revolver Handguns' started by 98coop, Sep 24, 2011.

1. 98coop

98coop New Member

Hey y'all, my name is Josh, and I'm new.
    I have a buddy looking to sell me a s and w 44 mag with a holster and 50 rounds of hollow points for $350. I was wondering if I should jump on this? It seems like a good deal, but I'm no gun expert. I know the gun is either stainless or chrome, and in good working order. It is a few years old however. Just wanting some opinions I guess.
    Thanks!

2. dunerunner

dunerunner New Member

I'd have to see the gun, I'd have to know your buddy very well, and I think I would like to see the original sales reciept or would ask if he minded using an FFL for the transfer of the weapon. JMO

BTW......Welcome to the FTF!

3. ScottA

ScottA FAA licensed bugsmasher Lifetime Supporter

If the gun is in good condition and LEGAL, I'd jump on that deal immediately and twice on Sunday.

4. 98coop

98coop New Member

Ha the gun was obtained LEGALLY from the original owner. He is trying to buy a 1911 is why he is selling it. And it's "too much gun" lol.

5. 98coop

98coop New Member

Oh and thanks dunerunner!

6. canebrake

canebrake New Member

If you had the model number, barrel length and serial number it would help.

7. trip286

trip286 New Member

Personally I would jump on it. Larry Potterfield of Midway USA put a bunch of videos on youtube, and one of them covers what to look for in a used S&W revolver.

8. Johnny357

Johnny357 New Member

Have you shot it yet? The 44 magnum revolvers I have shot have had ridiculous recoil, shoot it first and make sure it will be a fun gun for you. Compare prices against what you see on Gun Broker, I bet that is a good price.

9. bountyhunter

bountyhunter New Member