S&w .357

Discussion in 'Revolver Handguns' started by alienhunter1015, Aug 12, 2010.

1. alienhunter1015

alienhunter1015 New Member

Does anyone have any personal experience with 4 and 6" .357 from Tarus, Rossi, etc. as well as an S&W that can give an honest comparisson? What I'm really curious to know is if the extra money is just because you're buying the name S&W or is the quality really that much better?

Also, what are the advantages of having a 4" compared to a 6" and vice versa? I've owned a 2" Tarus .38 for years and love it but I want to get a
    .357 for more stopping power and home defense. How much difference does the barrel length make when it comes to kickback, accuracy, etc? I'm asking because as a law enforcement officer, I've only shot .40 semi autos for my entire career and know next to nothing about revolvers.

Thank you in advance.

2. danf_fl

danf_fl Retired Supporter

Welcome to the FTF, when you get a chance, stop by the "Introductions".
    My experience has been that the 4" is more practical as a general usage handgun.
    Now which one? Well, if it was me...
    S&W would be number 1. Ruger, Colt (older model), Taurus (paying close attention to some quality control issues), Rossi (if that is all I could afford).
    S&W revolvers have been around for a couple of years and more smiths can work on them than the other brands.
    My list above is what I would consider in quality.
    Barrel length has minimal affect of felt recoil, but the longer barrel does have an effect on sight picture. For target, 6", for practical, self defense, 4", for hideout, 2".

3. Jo da Plumbr

Jo da Plumbr New Member

I'm a Smith fan, so I was surprised when I did a side by side shoot with the Ruger that I liked the Ruger 357 better. The guys at the range were not surprised. They said the Ruger was the better gun at this time. So the Ruger is on the wish list now.

Having the money to get everything on the wish list is also on the wish list.:D

4. Rick1967