Ruger SR1911 in California

Discussion in '1911 Forum' started by john_t_714, Jul 1, 2012.

1. john_t_714

john_t_714 New Member

This question is more for CA residents.

How much would you pay for a SR1911 legally in CA?

I know a guy that has one legally registered in CA. He showed me the letter from DOJ. Still looks brand new, comes with box and everything.

Thanks for your input.

2. angurvail

angurvail New Member

Last I checked. The sr is not on the approved Cali list to the general public. Unless your law enforcement. So personally there are many more choices that are locked in that don't require the Cali requirements that are available to the public. So my point is.. It's not worth the price compares to what else is out there.

3. AgentTikki

AgentTikki New Member

Where in Cali are you?

You can get one in on a SSE single shot exemption. I've never done it before and only know the general procedure. It will set you back like $200 ish on top of the actual purchase price and add a couple weeks to your 10 day wait. There are a handful of ffls that will perform this service for you. Check ou calguns.net for a list for ffls. Hopefully there's one near you.

4. rmcmahanP345

rmcmahanP345 New Member

I just asked my gun store a couple days ago about getting one, living here in the Peoples Republic of Southern California, and I was told they were on the list not legal for sale here. Unfortunately, there are quite a few firearms that fit this criterea. For instance, my wife was looking at getting a Sig Sauer Mosquito .22 when she started going to the range together. After looking in the Sig Sauer catalog, she picked out the pink version of this handgun. We went to our local gun store to order it only to find out that this weapon in pink has not been "drop tested" for California therefore was illegal to purchase here! Welcome to Cali!!!

5. john_t_714

john_t_714 New Member