Ruger Mark II/III?

Discussion in 'Semi-Auto Handguns' started by Axxe55, Sep 21, 2011.

1. Axxe55

Axxe55 The Apocalypse Is Coming.....

have my eye on buying another pistol. the one i am interested in is the ruger mark II or mark III. any suggestions on what a reasonable price would be for one use? and what is the difference between the mark II and III? another question, would the browning buckmark be a better pistol? and what would the reasonable price be for one of those?

2. winds-of-change

winds-of-change The Balota's Staff Member

I would definitely recommend a Mark II. I bought a used one at a very good price from a friend and I am very happy with it. The Mark III has some features that others don't seem to like very much and I'm not 100% familiar with them so I will let someone more knowledgable than I explain them to you.

Some complain about field stripping but I am very new to guns and I have no problem field stripping it for cleaning. But let me just say, if you AREN'T very familiar with semi-autos, don't mess with the internals. It took me a month of blood, sweat and tears to put mine back together when I tried to replace the thumb piece for the bolt hold. I think I could do it now in an hour or so, but it was a darned tough learning process. :(

Get yourself a Mark II or a Mark III and have great fun with a very accurate and reliable .22 pistol.

3. Axxe55

thanks for the input, WOC. i have shot some of the older Ruger Mark I i believe is the one. i enjoyed it. just wondering, what are the differences in the mark II and the III? just out of curiosity, what did you have to pay for yours?

4. winds-of-change