Ruger LCP and .380 ammo

Discussion in 'Semi-Auto Handguns' started by Jesse17, Mar 3, 2011.

1. Jesse17

Jesse17 New Member

OK, I think I've decided to go with the Ruger LCP for my next gun, which will be my CCW, at least to start with. I just have a couple more question...

Is the LCP a simi-auto, in that once I rack it all I have to do is touch the trigger, or is it a stiff trigger double action?

About about .380 ammo...I have no experience with the caliber. I actually vowed to never own one, but I've decided that a pop-gun in my pocket always is better than a cannon left in the car. So I'm wondering what y'all would recommend. I want to buy bulk, and use the same thing at the range as I carry with, so the cheapest RELIABLE brand is what I'll be using (until I get my reloading stuff out of storage) but I'm wondering about penetration.

I think for feeding reliability and expansion I would go with SJHP, but I'm wondering about the low power round penetrating winter clothing. Would FMJ be better?

I hate the idea of using FMJ and just punching a little hole in a bad guy, but on the other hand I hate the idea of using a HP and having it clog up with winter coat before it gets to the bad guy.

What do you guys recommend? Also, any pros or cons about the LCP would be appreciated. Cabelas has LCP w/2 mags and holster for $349 right now, so I'm thinking I should jump on it.:confused:

2. ScottA

ScottA FAA licensed bugsmasher Lifetime Supporter

I'd first recommend that you put your hands on one. I assume that your question about the trigger means you haven't played with the trigger.

3. Jesse17

Jesse17 New Member

So...you're saying you don't know the answer, but wanted to post??

Thank you for that, whatever that was.

I kind of intended to handle it before I buy it, but usually have an item pretty much picked out before going to the store...this little miracle called the internet ya know.

4. Gojubrian

Gojubrian New Member