Firearms Talk banner

1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey guys! I'm a newbie so please be gentle hehe. I've been meaning to get a revolver to keep in the house primarily for home defense and taking to the range. After researching different models, I think I'm going with the Ruger GP100 357/38 4.2. I know firearms and ammo are very scarce right now and had a question for you guys. I found a gun shop about an hour away that has one in stock and I noticed its been in stock for some time now while all the other models have been sold out. I thought this was strange that no one was buying it and noticed that this particular model has that blue finish and not stainless steel. I read online that many choose stainless over blue because of erosion even from finger prints? Is this true? Should I hold out until I happen to find a stainless or is it not a big deal?

·
Premium Member
5,789 Posts
A blued pistol does deserve a bit more care but this will give you an excuse to fondle it a little more. Personally unless I lived in an extremely humid place it wouldn't worry me. Just wipe it down with a decent gun oil regularly and enjoy it. A GP100 is a fine revolver.

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Yea I totally don’t mind taking care of it and t won’t be stored in a humid place.I just thought it was very strange that was the only model I stock.

·
Premium Member
11,503 Posts
Yea I totally don’t mind taking care of it and t won’t be stored in a humid place.I just thought it was very strange that was the only model I stock.
Not that odd. If someone is going to regularly carry it, it's easier to keep stainless in good condition, compared to blued. More weather resistant.

·
Premium Member
11,358 Posts
Right now the gun market is focusing on semiautomatic handguns and rifles for various reasons. You are a bit lucky you found any GP100 in stock.

If you buy it, you should be receive a lifetime of good service from a Ruger.

·