Ruger American in .270

Discussion in 'General Rifle Discussion' started by RobotPuncher, Aug 4, 2013.

1. RobotPuncher

RobotPuncher New Member

Curious to hear about the performance/abilities of the .270?(kind of a small bullet) I seen a Ruger American in .270 for around $300. I'm new to high caliber rifles, so would this be an ok first rifle?

2. 95sniper

95sniper New Member

For sure that would be a great first rifle, 270 is a good caliber and its easy to find right now.

3. Gatoragn

Gatoragn Active Member

Dam$ skippy it would be an excellent, first, last or in between caliber. I have a .270 Win. in my safe and it exists to fill freezers with venison.

4. Axxe55

Axxe55 The Apocalypse Is Coming.....

the 270 is an excellent caliber. hard hitting and plenty accurate. works on many different sized game when used with the proper ammo.

the Ruger American is getting some great reviews and at $300, that sounds like a pretty good deal to me.

5. RobotPuncher

RobotPuncher New Member

Yeah that's about the only round I've been seeing on the shelves other than shotgun shells, and that's what kind of worried me because all the "popular" calibers fly off the shelves! Thanks for the input!

6. RobotPuncher

RobotPuncher New Member

Well alrighty then! I guess the .270 Winchester is going to be my first! Thank you for responding.

7. RobotPuncher

RobotPuncher New Member

Yeah! I just looked some FPS and It has some pretty hot loads! The price was almost to good to be true, I thought id check with you guys first before buying it! Thank you for the info!

8. RobotPuncher

RobotPuncher New Member

Oh I almost forgot, this rifle doesn't come with a scope. I heard that the Nikon Buckmaster was a good scope? I don't plan on shooting at any crazy ranges, mostly likely straying between 150-400 yards.

9. Axxe55

Axxe55 The Apocalypse Is Coming.....

Nikon makes pretty decent scopes. i have used them in the past with good results.

10. RobotPuncher

RobotPuncher New Member