Ruger 10/22 or S&W M&P 15-22

Discussion in '.22 Rifle/Rimfire Discussion' started by niteglock, Jul 23, 2012.

1. niteglock

niteglock New Member

I'm looking to buy a .22 rifle and am torn between the two. I just basically want one because they r cheap to shoot and can have boatloads of ammo on hand. Lol. Which one would be the better to choose. I like the tactical look, but I've heard the ruger 10/22 is more accurate. Any help would be highly appreciated. And I also don't want to spend any more than 400-450.00. I want something thats good for long range and close range. I will soon be looking to go to outdoor ranges and can't afford an Ak or AR. Thanks.

2. niteglock

niteglock New Member

Funny. I just seen the thread about the same thing right underneath this one I just started. Lol. Sorry.

3. KeysKelly

KeysKelly New Member

I have no experience with the S&W M&P 22 but I own a 10/22 as well as the pistol version, Charger 10/22. I love them both. The 10/22 rifle has been around and a top seller for over 50 years. I must have close to 10,000 rounds through mine. Both my daughters learned to shoot with mine and I learned how to shoot with one my Dad owned close to 45 years ago.

No need to even spend the $400 to $500 you mentioned as the 10/22 can be bought around $200 if you shop around. Can pick up a good used one even cheaper.

4. Vincine

Vincine New Member

I'm looking at the same choices. My understanding is the 10/22 would require a lot of work for long range shooting, a real challenge with a .22LR round just by itself. At least as compared to other 'out of the box' .22LRs. Don't know much about the M&P 15/22 for distance. I'm looking at it as a 'trainer' to familiarize myself with the AR platform, but I don't really know how closely M&P 15/22 mimics it. Both are reputed to have a very high fun to shoot index which maybe all one should expect.

5. Curlyjoe_99

Curlyjoe_99 New Member