Rock tumbler?

Discussion in 'Ammunition & Reloading' started by jwjessup, Mar 12, 2013.

1. jwjessup

jwjessup New Member

My question is can I use a rock tumbler to clean brass like a brass spin tumbler, without damaging the brass? The brass that will be cleaned is 40 S&W, 45 ACP, 30-06 SPR, and 30-30 Win.

2. JTJ

JTJ Well-Known Member Supporter

Yes. Just use the proper media like walnut shell which is very cheap at pet stores.

3. 25-5

25-5 New Member

I have been using a Thumbler's Tumbler for 35+ years for pistol and rifle brass. The media I use is Lyman Turbo Tumbler Media in Corncob Green. I cut a fabric softner sheet in four and the media lasts a long time with nice polished brass.

4. robocop10mm

robocop10mm Lifetime Supporting Member Lifetime Supporter

A rotary tumbler will polish just fine, it just takes longer than a vibratory one.

5. c3shooter

c3shooter Administrator Staff Member

Picked up a little rotary tumbler, no container, at thrift shop, $2. Use a coffee can with snap on plastic lid, fill 1/3 full of brass and walnut shell media. Works well. Too much weight, will not turn. Plug it in in the shop, let run overnight.

6. hiwall

hiwall Well-Known Member

That is what everyone had to use before the vibratory ones came on the market.

7. fupuk

fupuk New Member

I bought mine at harbor freight about four months ago and its worked great for me. Ive cleaned probally 2000 pieces and its still going strong. I believe for the tumbler and the media it was a little over $50.

8. jwjessup

jwjessup New Member

Thank you for all the great responses.

9. JTJ

JTJ Well-Known Member Supporter

Your drive belt is probably stretched. I have found that the larger plumbers O-rings make good drive belts. mine uses a 3.5".

10. locutus

locutus Well-Known Member Supporter

I use a Thumler's model B with warm water and Tide.

Much faster then regular media. (20 minutes)

11. jwjessup

jwjessup New Member