rifle issues

Discussion in 'General Rifle Discussion' started by clax, May 12, 2011.

1. clax

clax New Member

I found a remington 700 30.06 with a scope for 250 bucks at a gunshow. I may be a terrable shot I may lack the skill to shoot well. But my groupings are about 4 inches at 100 yards, this is terrable even for a beginner to my understanding. I don't get the practiice I would like and after ten rounds I am not even on the paper any more, could there be something wrong with the rifle or is it more likely the shooter, I am a beginner.

2. towboater

towboater Active Member

Probably a scope problem.

3. CA357

CA357 New Member Supporter

Four inches at 100 yards is pretty decent shooting for a person who doesn't shoot regularly. Don't beat yourself up or get frustrated. It just takes practice. Four inches at 100 yards will put venison on the table.

BTW, after a number of shots, the barrel heats up and accuracy can be degraded. It could also be that you are flinching in anticipation of the recoil.

4. CA357

We have a New Member Introduction forum. Head over there and introduce yourself to the folks when you get a chance. There's some good people here.

5. clax

clax New Member

I never thought about the scope, I used a bsa bore sighter and followed the instructions. I have practiced trigger pull and dry fire plenty. When I first got the rifle I gave myself a black eye peeping to deep into the scope and had to get a limbsaver to manage on my local ranges bench rest. I am a big guy and I have to crouch way down to be able to shoot saftly at thair range and it beat up my coller bone infact bruised it so that is why I bought the limb saver. I am a shotgun guy and I had to learn that shooting a rifle is extreemly diffefent it may be that my shotgun habits are interfearing.

But 4 inches at 100 yards is decent for a beginner? What would make my pattern wonder as I shoot?

6. hbomb

hbomb New Member