Ricochets

Discussion in 'Range Report' started by EdwardH, Aug 23, 2010.

1. EdwardH

EdwardH New Member

I shoot an an indoor range and the last time I went, I was hit in the chest by a spent, but pretty much a full size slug. It hit hard enough to hurt a bit, but not enough to break the skin or leave a red spot. I've had very small pieces of spent shell land on my shooting stand or hit me a couple of times before, but nothing like this. Until this past March, I hadn't fired a weapon of any kind since I left Viet Nam in 1970, so basically I'm new to indoor shooting. I'm wondering if anyone out there has had a similar experience or might have any comments about mine. Thanks.

Edward

2. Gordo323

Gordo323 New Member

I once found a unfired 12 Gauge shell while posting targets for my ,22, so I wedged it into a tree branch, shot at it and guess what I actually hit it and the empty shell hit me in the forehead.
    No damage done . Scared the crap out of me though!
    Go to the introductions thread and let us all know about yourself, I for one admire Veterans!

3. c3shooter

c3shooter Administrator Staff Member

While you should not get "bouncebacks" on a properly designed and maintained range, ca-ca happens. Which is why eye protection is a REAL good idea. Yes, I have been hit by fragments of jacket metal, etc. Yes, i wear glasses. BTW, Harbor Freight had plastic lens shooting glasses on sale for about $1.98 last week.

4. dunerunner

dunerunner New Member

When I was a kid (10 years old) my Dad took my sister and I shooting. He picked out a white object about 50 yards away and told me to hit it. I did, it was a piece of rock, the ricochet buzzed over our heads and Dad said; "OK, kids! It's time to go."

5. crazycharlie2

crazycharlie2 New Member

There is only one indoor range in my area that I know of and you have to use (his) frangible ammo.

6. deathkricket

deathkricket New Member