Revolver for the wife

Discussion in 'Revolver Handguns' started by notoriousM3, Dec 3, 2010.

1. notoriousM3

notoriousM3 New Member

I'm no expert so Thats why I figured I would ask you knowlegable folks. I'm looking for a revolver for my wife for personal protection. I'm thinking about a S/W 357 or 38. She is of medium build and has limited experience with guns. Thats why I wanted to get her a revolver rather than a semi-auto. She will recieve proper training but I'd like to know what your ladies carry for protection.:)

2. jbd

jbd New Member

My wife and I both carry the Ruger LCR and have been very pleased with the little revolver. It has a very smooth trigger and reliable. I have about 500 rounds down range through the 1st one and about 200 rounds through the 2nd one. IMO give the lcr a look.

3. NGIB

NGIB New Member

The softest shooting little .357 I've tried is the Ruger SP101. The alloy S&W J-frames are great guns but tough to shoot well and are very snappy to boot...

4. spittinfire

spittinfire New Member Supporter

I think you're on the right track. I will vote for a 357 over a 38 any day of the week because you can shoot both in the 357. I got my wife a Ruger SP101 in 357 which she feeds 38s. I got her a revolver because she had no gun experience prior to meeting me and wanted something easier for her to use.
    Later I found out she doesn't like semi autos after letting her shoot a 9mm I had so the revolver was a good choice for simplicity and her preference. She's good with them too. If you can find a range that rents guns that would be my recommendation. Go rent both and see which one she likes.

5. winds-of-change

winds-of-change The Balota's Staff Member