Remanufactured Ammo damages pistol

Discussion in 'Ammunition & Reloading' started by Jimmyshot, Apr 26, 2014.

1. Jimmyshot

Jimmyshot New Member

My student was firing my Sig P938 using 9mm remanufactured ammo from
    3-D Inv. Inc. Doniphan NE when the cartridge split open and backfired. It blew the factory grip on the right side to pieces and she was hit in the face by flying debris. Smoke was coming out of the pistol. I had instructed her to wear glasses but she didn't. The brass cartridge, near the base, had a ruptured split in it. I have never seen this before. I am an NRA Pistol Instructor and NC Certified Firearms Instructor, former Law Enforcement. This could have taken her eye out and was a severe example of not wearing safety glasses. I will never again use remanufactured ammo.

2. JTJ

JTJ Well-Known Member Supporter

I had a gun wrecked with factory ammo. Apparently a very hot load possibly a double charge on one round in the box. Gun went bang, bang, bang and boom. No squib to plug the barrel. Similar to what you are describing. It can happen so are you going to stop shooting factory loads too? I have shot many thousands of rounds of commercial reloads and stuff I reloaded with out a problem. I will not shoot a reload someone has done in his garage especially my SILs. I have had more screw ups with factory ammo than reloads.

3. John_Deer

John_Deer New Member

The big difference in factory ammo is the company is adequately insured and they issue a recall when the mistake is found. Remanufacturers usually have a poor communication network, so you may never hear about their recall.

4. wittmeba

wittmeba New Member

If you are able to identify the brand, load, lot/batch number I'd certainly contact the mfg and pass back the information. The information should be on the inside flat of the box. See what they say.

5. Axxe55

Axxe55 The Apocalypse Is Coming.....