reloading dies

Discussion in 'Ammunition & Reloading' started by mule06, Jan 24, 2013.

1. mule06

mule06 New Member

So I'm new to reloading I got a lee three die set what one is the neck sizer? As both my dies are marking on the cases below the shoulder

2. cottontop

cottontop Guest

Are you sure one is a neck sizer and not a crimping die? Lee neck sizers are of the collet variety. Screw the die apart, if it has a collet, that's it.
    CT

3. nitestalker

nitestalker New Member

A sizing die will have a decapping rod and neck expander. Makes no difference FL or NS only.

4. mule06

mule06 New Member

Ok what I have is a decapper then a full size die w decapper then a short die w no decapper

5. robocop10mm

robocop10mm Lifetime Supporting Member Lifetime Supporter

Caliber? Perhaps a Lee part number so we can help sort it out.

6. mule06

mule06 New Member

Its a 243 I was told that to neck size a case fired in my gun would give me a more acurate load

7. robocop10mm

8. Txhillbilly

Txhillbilly Active Member

If you have the Pacesetter dies,you don't have a neck sizing die.It comes with a full length sizing die,bullet seating die,and a factory crimp die.
    But,If you have the Deluxe dies,you should have a full length sizing die,a neck sizing die,and the bullet seating die.

9. Crazycastor

Crazycastor New Member

I have three Rcbs dies for my 40, the first die rounds out the brass and deprimes. The second one opens the neck to allow the bullet to fit inside the brass case and the third die seats the bullet and crimps the case around the bullet. I'm new to reloading but this how it was explained to me. I havent actually loaded and bullets yet but I hope this works for you.

10. nitestalker

nitestalker New Member

Crazyhorse, That is two different issues. Your 3 die set is for a straight wall pistol Ctg. We are talking about a bottle necked rifle round. The 2 are not the same.:)

11. Rick1967

Rick1967 Well-Known Member