Reloading ammo for a newbie

Discussion in 'Ammunition & Reloading' started by rhyno13, Dec 5, 2012.

1. rhyno13

rhyno13 New Member

I am thinking about getting into reloading my own ammo, and really don't have any idea where to start or get information on what equip. I need and what is good and what to avoid. Any advice would be greatly appreciated.

2. racer_x

racer_x New Member

check out utube theres a bunch of vids just for us.

im in the same boat i wana get into it too

3. magnumman

magnumman New Member

Buy a reloading manuel (or 2) and read it cover to cover before you even buy equipment.

4. Tenderribbs

Tenderribbs New Member

For me I'm new to reloading and all of my spare time is going to it so I'm still eating up any and all info I can. My best advice for a newbie is since Christmas is comming get you a list together soon your running out of time I've already got mine in .one on my list is a spotting scope man I'm wearing out my 4 wheller checking targets. Do a lot of research before you buy a setup . I bought the Lee master loader but I wish I would of spent the $ on a better quality like RCBS . Have fun always start low and work up . Oh and you don't have to have a progressive , I have one and use it as a single stage press .

5. c3shooter

c3shooter Administrator Staff Member

Step 1- go buy a copy of of The ABCs of Reloading. Read it before you buy anything.

6. carbon15man

carbon15man New Member

If you knw somebody that reload before you do anything ask can u watch him do it one day and talk you thru the steps to see if you'd really like to do it

7. Overkill0084

Overkill0084 Active Member

Fixed it for you. There's some scary people out there who shouldn't be passing on their skills.
    On this same line, check your local gun stores and maybe the local gun club for classes. I know our local Sportsman's Warehouse offers classes, or at least they did (haven't really noticed lately).

Last edited: Dec 6, 2012
  8. locutus