Featured References for License to Carry Firearms PA

Discussion in 'Concealed Carrying & Personal Protection' started by SM84, Oct 15, 2020 at 2:34 PM.

1. SM84

SM84 New Member

Hi

I want to apply for an LTCF in PA and I was wondering what are some ways to get references.

It says that family cannot be considered but what is the definition of family? Meaning up to what degree/level is the family connection applicable? What if the person is like a very far away connection like a cousin of my cousin?

Any other suggestions to find references?

Also, if I am a reference for someone, am I responsible if the person is involved in a shooting incident?

I am new to this and was hoping to get some information.

Thanks.

2. G66enigma

G66enigma Well-Known Member Supporter

Regarding references: it's a fair assumption that "family" means someone related by blood to you. I would guess that'd apply to distant cousins the same as it would for father, mother, siblings and "close" relations.

If someone asks you to be a reference for them, no you're not vouching for that person and responsible for that person's behaviors. Reference-checking is merely an attempt by those reviewing the references to determine if there's some risk elements they had not yet uncovered, by getting someone else's opinion. (Same as, say, application for employment at Company X, where your history involves Company Y previously; it's not as though Company Y would be liable for you being a dud, any more than you'd be liable for someone's criminal misbehavior simply because you chimed in on your impressions of that person.)

How to find references? You'll need to look to your network of friends, colleagues, associates. Outside of blood relations (family) apparently.

3. SM84

SM84 New Member