Red Dot Sights

Discussion in 'AR-15 Discussion' started by rmcmahanP345, May 21, 2012.

1. rmcmahanP345

rmcmahanP345 New Member

Looking at getting a red dot sight for my new DPMS AR-15. Looked at Aimpoint and Eotech....both a little pricey. I don't want a cheap one....just the best "bang for the buck". Any suggestions?

2. frostyone

frostyone New Member

Primary arms makes a micro dot clone of the aimpoint. I have no experience with it but have read great reviews about it with excellent customer service. I believe it's around $90.

3. kusterleXD

kusterleXD New Member

If I could afford it I'd get an Eotech. Seeing as how I can't I have one a buddy gave me. I think it is a nock off of an aim point.

4. Fixer

Fixer New Member

EOTechs are not knocks-offs of Aimpoints. They are completely different in every way.

The best bang for your buck can be a crappy RDS. If all you got is $50.... I'd save it and just shoot iron sights.

[ame]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-XGPfvQyKxo&feature=relmfu[/ame]

Its all on you. Whats your cash flow? I don't trust any optic less than $200. Primary Arms are ok range optics, but in the end they are still cheap knock-offs of quality optics. I have read many reviews on them, mostly good.

5. BenLuby

BenLuby New Member

I have a primary arms, and the first one they sent me would not zero at all. I emailed PA, had a response in less than half an hour, and they sent me a replacement that day, with return postage for the bad one. While I still tend to prefer my irons, the PA is a reliable sight, and the customer service was phenomenal. The new one holds zero very well.
    Being old school, I tend to like the irons, but I will admit that you get on target a lot faster with the RDS, and it is just as accurate as one would expect. I wouldn't put it through a ton of abuse, but that's just me. I would think they'd take a decent amount, and mine does get banged around a bit when I have it out.