rechambering

Discussion in 'General Rifle Discussion' started by hjay1968, Feb 27, 2011.

1. hjay1968

hjay1968 New Member

I have a Savage model 12V in .222 over 20 gauge and was wondering if it's worth having it rechambered to .223? Or if it's even possible.

2. JonM

JonM Moderator

its totally possible as they both use .224 bullets. ive seen m1 garands converted to 458winmag... will it raise the value?? no. your not going to recoup the money on a resale so the sole determiner would be for your own enjoyment.

3. cpttango30

cpttango30 New Member

I am a big fan of the 223. But the 222 is a more accurate cartridge plus it burns less powder and is slightly quieter.

4. hjay1968

hjay1968 New Member

I'm not looking for resale value, it's going to be passed down to my kids. I was looking at the fact that .223 ammo is easier to find and cheaper than .222. I'm just getting into coyote hunting with some friends and instead of buying a new rifle, I thought this would be a better option with the shotgun barrel included. Thankyou.

5. cpttango30

cpttango30 New Member

It is going to cost you just about as much to rechamber it as it would to go and get a Howa 1500 set up or a H&R Handi Rifle.

6. robocop10mm

robocop10mm Lifetime Supporting Member Lifetime Supporter

How much can it cost. Rent a finish reamer and head space gauge. I would so do it!

7. whtsmoke

whtsmoke New Member

Jon, a garand rebarreled to 458 win mag? Me thinks you are dreaming.

8. JonM

JonM Moderator

Nope no joke almost did one myself when I discovered the 458socom. Videos of em on youtube. There is a gunmaker that you send em a garand plus 2500$ and they send ya a functioning semi auto 458. I believe it was mccannindustries makes them custom smiths.

Last edited: Feb 28, 2011
  9. whtsmoke

whtsmoke New Member

Jon i did some searching and he did do it but with a very extensive mod, was it worth 2600 plus a good garand? nope not in my opinon, but then we all have our opinons.

10. Sniper03