Really confused now!

Discussion in 'Glock Forum' started by danijoh69, Mar 9, 2012.

1. danijoh69

danijoh69 New Member

Ok gang, I went to the required CCW class last night in preparation for getting my Florida CCW license. I was all convinced I wanted to buy a Glock 19 as my carry weapon.
    After going over the Florida statutes re being responsible for where a bullet ends up (God forbid I should ever have to actually shoot someone!) I'm starting to re-think the
    wisdom of carrying a 9mm. Our instructor, a police chief, says most 9mm could very possibly penetrate a human body & possibly harm an innocent bystander! He said NEVER draw your weapon unless you shoot to kill, in the case of defending your home/vehicle. He carries a .32 as a concealed weapon, his duty weapon is the Springfield 1911 .45. The .32 fits nicely in his pocket. I do have a S&W .357 now. So, do I buy the Glock 19, or a .32 or 380? What are your thoughts? As you may have guessed I am a newbie at this so I appreciate everyone's opinions! Thanks in advance!

2. winds-of-change

winds-of-change The Balota's Staff Member

I am wrestling with this subject myself. I am in the market for a new gun and am fretting over which caliber. I think I've finally made a decision. I'm interested to see what responses you get. Good luck!!

3. texaswoodworker

texaswoodworker New Member

9mm can have problems with over penetration. So can 357 sig. A good hollow point can help stop this, but not always. 45 ACP and 10mm are bigger slower rounds, so over penetration is not as likely (they also do more damage to what ever they hit).

As for 40 S&W, It is more powerful then 9mm (not sure about over penetration though), but it causes a lot of muzzle flip (aka kick). Many people love them, but a lot of people absolutely hate them too. I highly suggest trying this round out first before buying anything chambered for it).