Range shooting questions

Discussion in 'General Handgun Discussion' started by wheelman, Jan 26, 2016.

1. wheelman

wheelman New Member

I'm new to both handgun shooting and shooting at indoor ranges. My first time shooting was ok, Shooting a S&W SW9VE I'm disapointed with the results even though Guy said wad good.Shot around 160 rounds and 12 total misses, first few all going left had to compensate Have a few questions ,

#1- what is normal distance people shoot handguns at range? I was shooting max distance 15yds, thought was too close but saw others at 3&7 yards isn't that too close?

#2-is there any type of rest for handguns to accurately check sight alignment , I feel guns shooting left and noticed sights off center .

I am a perfctionist and will not be content with anything less than perfect , any and all advice is greatly appreciated

Attached Files:

2. Dakota1

Dakota1 Active Member

First off, you're doing well for a new shooter at 15 yards.

People practice at 3 - 7 yards because that's where most defensive situations occur.

If you want to bench rest to see where your sights are, rest your wrists, not the gun, on a shooting bag or anything that will give you a stable rest. Try it at 7 yards initially. When bench testing, you can't flinch & you must squeeze the trigger straight back (not easy at first). Not flinching comes with practice, so if your bench-rested shots are spread out at 7 yards, you're flinching or not pulling the trigger straight back. If you're doing it right, at that distance a 5-shot group should almost be one hole. Have an experienced shooter bench rest the gun if it isn't. If you're getting a tight group at POI (Point Of Aim) at that distance, you'll be pretty close to it at 15 yards. Also, keep in mind that different bullet weights will have different POI (Point Of Impact) and the difference will increase as the range increases. Usually, heavier bullets = higher POI.

3. danf_fl

danf_fl Retired Supporter