Range rules

Discussion in 'Training & Safety' started by 11Handicap, Jan 8, 2012.

1. 11Handicap

11Handicap New Member

I am new to firearms, just bought my first pistol. I went to the range closest to my home several times to observe before i went to shoot. I asked for the range rules. And a young man looked at me like i had two heads. This is my personality, i am not particarlly comfortable around a group with firearms yet since i am new. I had to go online and read the range rules. Here is the one that scares me: it states that all weapons are to be left on the firing line, you are to load your weapon there to shoot it. Is this typical? Very few people except me do this. They all carry it back to a table behind to reload, than return with it to the fireing line. Is this typical at ranges? I have not been to enough to know. Do most people read the range rules and follow them? I am basically afraid someone will shoot me walking up to the line with an accidental discharge, might be my new guy range fear but its still there. Tons of kids there renting guns to shoot, i am veteran compared to them. And i am new so you know what i mean. Should i go to another range?

Thanks for all the warm welcomes and your willingness to help someone new to firearms.

2. Chandler51

Chandler51 New Member

I've never been to ANY range where "handling" of any kind is allowed while someone is downrange of the weapon. Some competitions have a "loading table"...but it is supervised by a RO of some sort. as a matter of fact, at my home range, if you aren't on the line, it HAS to be bagged or holstered.

I'd be leery...and I'm interested to hear some of the others opinions.

3. trip286

trip286 New Member

I think that loading at the line is safer than loading at a table behind the line. I also think its safer to leave the guns at the line when walking downrange.

4. Chandler51

Chandler51 New Member

Amen, brother.

5. firedawg60

firedawg60 New Member