Putting Information about a person on the web

Discussion in 'Legal and Activism' started by BCMjUnKiE, Feb 4, 2012.

1. BCMjUnKiE

BCMjUnKiE New Member

Is it legal to put a person's name and username to different forums on the site of a forum for all to see? Just to ruin the person for no reason. I'm no lawyer but sure sounds like that it's crossing the line and could indeed be illegal.

2. JonM

JonM Moderator

i dont see how it could be illegal. it is certainly a dirtbag move though

3. BCMjUnKiE

BCMjUnKiE New Member

That's what I thought. Why would you go that far as to do such crap. Obviously the person has no life or is just mentally unstable. My Friend is the one this has happened to. I could throw the Username and name of the person that is doing it. But I'm not a dirt bag or a stalker.

4. ScottA

ScottA FAA licensed bugsmasher Lifetime Supporter

Just let us know if it ever happens here.

5. BCMjUnKiE

BCMjUnKiE New Member

I wil let you know.

This guy obviously doesn't know that computer hacking is a Federal Crime.
    I sent a message to the Staff of that site about this.
    No response and thread is still up with personal information.
    If they don't remove it then they are in the same boat as the OP.

6. c3shooter

c3shooter Administrator Staff Member

I am not a lawyer (Am engineer- a useful member of society) and this is not a good place to seek legal advice.

Whether that would be actionable is going to depend to a large degree on what context it was done in, and claims or allegations associated with that- and the truth/ untruth of those claims.

If I were to post something like "Beware of a seller using the name BCMJunkie. His name is Joe Blow from West Tree Stump Idaho. He has been convicted of 5 counts of mail fraud for taking payments for guns he failed to deliver."- Well, if THAT is accurate, truth is a strong defense against slander/libel. If it is NOT accurate, that person better have a GOOD lawyer.