Proper muzzleloader length for fast reloading?

Discussion in 'Blackpowder & Musket' started by Scratchammo, Mar 7, 2013.

1. Scratchammo

Scratchammo New Member

At what total length should a custom muzzleloader be to ease in fast reloading? If you were to stand it up straight against you, should it come below, to the bottom, or to center of your sternum?

2. mountainman13

mountainman13 New Member

You really thing a difference of 3" is going to effect reloading time? Fast reloading comes with practice and premeasured loads.
    Rushed reloading leads to accidents anyway. It is better to be steady and safe.

3. orangello

orangello New Member

It would seem that the shorter the barrel, the easier it would be to manipulate the ramrod. I can load my little sidelock pistol VERY quickly.

Now the optimum length would probably have more to do with your height and how high up you could reach to pull the ramrod out of the barrel when reloading.

Just my opinion, and i am no expert.

4. 303tom

303tom Well-Known Member

There is no such thing as a proper muzzleloader length for fast reloading...........

5. Scratchammo

Scratchammo New Member

Not at the moment.

6. HockaLouis

HockaLouis New Member

I would think where you don't have to bring your arms up above your elbows but I know folk who swear a Bess is faster to load than a trade gun... They subscribe to "longer is better" which I personally don't like the idea of!
    :eek:

7. 303tom

303tom Well-Known Member

That right there is what I am talking about................I like a shorter rifle.

8. Shoop

Shoop New Member

You can make paper cartridges to speed up the process a bit.

9. orangello

orangello New Member