Private sale of firearms?

Discussion in 'General Handgun Discussion' started by sleeper, Jan 16, 2014.

1. sleeper

sleeper New Member

Would like to make a sale to a co-worker of a handgun. As this is my first time selling a firearm privately I just want to make sure everything is done correct. I live in TN as does the purchaser. Should I do a bill of sale? If there any required or suggested actions I should take?

2. MisterMcCool

MisterMcCool Well-Known Member Supporter

Can't hurt.

3. Dearhunter

Dearhunter Supporting Member Supporter

In consideration I hereby transfer full ownership of one rifle/handgun, model, serial # to (name of buyer) on this date ________.

signed___________________ seller.

signed___________________ buyer

make sure all copies are signed by both parties and Keep one copy for your records

4. G30USMC

G30USMC Active Member Supporter

I always do a bill of sale........

5. danf_fl

danf_fl Retired Supporter

6. vincent

vincent New Member

IANAL-Any CYA move is a good one...

Follow your states' laws...

Unless my transaction is with a family member I always have a local FFL do the paperwork and the buyer pays the transfer fee...

Cover Your Ass!!! :cool:

7. wittmeba

wittmeba New Member

A bill of sale won't hurt. It is in your best interest and to protect you.

You can always find blank examples on the web. Save/Copy and print one and both sign with the firearm description and S/N.

Always check both seller and buyer state(s) laws before transferring firearms. I'm sure you would hate to lose any privileges over a silly mistake.

8. bluez

bluez Well-Known Member

I always do the minimum needed in my State (VA)
    Ask the man if he is a resident of my state and check ID.

I NEVER involve a FFL and refuse to buy a gun if the seller insists .. I see no need to have too may 4473's floating out there alerting the .gov how many firearms I have.

And in general the less data they have the better.