Powdered sugar ?

Discussion in 'Blackpowder & Musket' started by dango, Jan 27, 2013.

1. dango

dango Well-Known Member Lifetime Supporter

I was Bs,n with old friend and he said that "Powdered sugar" was used in the powder mix for a more uniform burn !

True or False ?:confused:

2. hoovco

hoovco New Member

What powder?

3. sputnik1988

sputnik1988 Active Member

Black powder I assume.

While I am far from an expert in the field of muzzle loading, I don't imagine suger ignites all that well, I also don't imagine anything short of an act of God removing burnt sugar from your bore.

4. towboater

towboater Well-Known Member

5. hiwall

hiwall Well-Known Member

If you read about recipes for making black powder and testing done on those recipes you will find that yes sugar can be used.

6. marc29th

marc29th New Member

Back in the 18th century, sugar was way to valuable to make rum from. I've never heard of using powdered sugar in black powder for any reason.

7. gr8oldguy

gr8oldguy New Member

I had to check this one out. Actually, sugar was a common ingredient in black powder.

8. hoovco

hoovco New Member

Let's go ahead and nix this thread now. Anybody making their own explosive compounds at home has either

a) an education how to do it,
    or
    b) s*** for brains.

You'll blow your damn face off. Seriously.

9. hiwall

hiwall Well-Known Member

I believe the powder called "triple seven" uses sugar in their formula.

10. dango

dango Well-Known Member Lifetime Supporter

This one is really out my expertise and NO, my name ain't "Abdula" or nothin..!
    Just BS,n is all ,and I'd never heard of this ..! OK..! m :)

11. HOSSFLY

HOSSFLY New Member

Nobody is discussing making explosives :confused:
    Adding "stuff" when shooting BP is very common---
    BTW- Don't think it's up to you to decide whats "nixed"---

Last edited: Jan 28, 2013
  12. 303tom

303tom Well-Known Member