Firearms Talk banner

1 - 20 of 58 Posts

·
Banned
16,851 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I was Bs,n with old friend and he said that "Powdered sugar" was used in the powder mix for a more uniform burn !

True or False ?:confused:

·
Registered
665 Posts
dango said:
I was Bs,n with old friend and he said that "Powdered sugar" was used in the powder mix for a more uniform burn !

True or False ?:confused:
What powder?

·
Registered
2,880 Posts
Black powder I assume.

While I am far from an expert in the field of muzzle loading, I don't imagine suger ignites all that well, I also don't imagine anything short of an act of God removing burnt sugar from your bore.

·
Registered
4,546 Posts
If you read about recipes for making black powder and testing done on those recipes you will find that yes sugar can be used.

·
Registered
667 Posts
Back in the 18th century, sugar was way to valuable to make rum from. I've never heard of using powdered sugar in black powder for any reason.

·
Registered
1,115 Posts
I had to check this one out. Actually, sugar was a common ingredient in black powder.

·
Registered
665 Posts
Let's go ahead and nix this thread now. Anybody making their own explosive compounds at home has either

a) an education how to do it,
or
b) s*** for brains.

You'll blow your damn face off. Seriously.

·
Registered
4,546 Posts
I believe the powder called "triple seven" uses sugar in their formula.

·
Banned
16,851 Posts
Discussion Starter · #10 ·
This one is really out my expertise and NO, my name ain't "Abdula" or nothin..!
Just BS,n is all ,and I'd never heard of this ..! OK..! m :)

·
Registered
6,928 Posts
Let's go ahead and nix this thread now. Anybody making their own explosive compounds at home has either

a) an education how to do it,
or
b) s*** for brains.

You'll blow your damn face off. Seriously.
Nobody is discussing making explosives :confused:
Adding "stuff" when shooting BP is very common---
BTW- Don't think it's up to you to decide whats "nixed"---